Never forget where you started

DSCN0637As my first “big” race looms in one week, I decided to take a look back at my very first experience lacing up with other runners.

Though it was only 2011, it feels like a lifetime away. I’ve graduated college, started planning a wedding, moved 540 miles away from home, and in some ways am still trying to find my place in the professional workforce.

That early August morning I tied up my shoes like everyone else, pranced around trying to stay warm in the rain like everyone else, and lined up at the starting line like everyone else.

But I didn’t run like anyone else.

In fact, I barely ran at all.

In a running performance I’m still embarrassed by today, I ran probably a total of 1 mile. I hadn’t trained at all, in some misconception that my black belt physical conditioning would be enough, and at one point an EMT stopped me to ask if I needed to sit down.

Did I really look that bad?

Yes. I really must have. Because for the next 3 days I could barely even move my legs they hurt so much. I learned a valuable lesson that day. Never, never underestimate a race, no matter what the distance or what kind of physical condition you think you’re in. Anything could happen during those miles that could take you off course.

Here I am a few hours after my first 5K.

Here I am a few hours after my first 5K.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Advice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

