We are Boston Strong

I remember where I was and exactly what I was doing when I heard about the bombings.

I remember thinking it was a hoax.

I remember looking at the pictures of Boylston Street and not believing there was blood.

I remember people asking me if I was OK.

Boston-Strong1

I wasn’t in Boston last year when our sport and the city I called home changed forever. I was up north, safe at my internship in Manchester, NH.  I was the one that broke the word to the marketing group I worked in. The empty, sinking feeling I felt, and still do when I recall those moments from last year, will never get better.

Watching the memorial a few days ago was one of the hardest things I’ve ever watched. But the running community, and the city of Boston fought back. They gave the world a reason to hope again. A reason to believe that even when the world hands you an impossible situation, that you can rise from the ashes and come out better on the other side.

So here we are. The day of the 118th Boston Marathon. The day that shows the world what runners and running is made of. The resilency of the the survivors and the running community will show through more so today than any other.

Because we are BOSTON STRONG.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Racing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

