Plan while you run

Wedding planning is always stressful. From trying to figure out the logistics, to talking to bakers and looking at pictures of dresses, there’s so much a bride has to go through just to get to the vows.

With just a few days until I’m left with 12 months to go until my wedding, I’ve been trying to plan in my spare time. The only problem is, I don’t have a lot of it. Between two jobs and whatever free time I have spent training, I do what I can.

I plan when I run.

As I’m on the treadmill I’m making mental lists of the things that need to be handled, what I want to napkins to look like, and when to design and order the favors.

Now I know that probably isn’t the best thing to do while running, but sometimes I have the best ideas when my legs burn and I’m climbing toward the end of my session. Also, it helps that all of the endorphins are coursing through my system, allowing me to feel better about all the stress regarding the upcoming day. And all the money that has to be spent for it.

Planning while running can be a great distraction when you’re trying to get through a long run. It can take your mind off of everything, and especially if you have an issue in your life, working through it while running can make it seem not as bad.

Many people run for clarity and peace of mind. I find that when I work through problems during a run, I feel so much better when it’s over.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Advice and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

