My 3 favorite songs

Inspiration can come from a variety of places. I’ve always found mine from music, though recently I’ve shifted to some more variety in the top 3.

Topping the list I have to say is “21 Guns” from Green Day. It scared me a little when I first started to really fall in love with this song. It’s meaning is a little harsh and sad. But for me it provides a sense of release.

“Lay down your arms, give up the fight.”

Frequently I have to remember to let go and not care about what I can’t change. I can’t change if there are faster people at the starting line than me. I can’t change if the weather is cold or it starts to pour on mile 4 of 6. But sometimes you need to just lay down and give up the fight for a little while before you can start fresh again. This song reminds me of that.

Moving along the same lines from that, “Brave” by Josh Groban also dominates my top 3.

“Hold on, hold on so strong, time just carries on
All that you thought was wrong is pure again
You can’t hide forever from the thunder
Look into the storm and feel the rain”

This song got me through a very difficult time in my life. In fact, I probably would not have stayed sane if this song had not come out. I would get in the car each morning and blast it on my way to work. The incredible message of standing up in the face of adversity or pain or fear is so powerful. Especially if you are struggling through something in your life.

The last song I’ve really had to think about. I’m not sure which song would be my 3rd. For right now, I would have to say “Red & Black” from the Broadway show Les Mis.

“It is time for us all
To decide who we are
Do we fight for the right
To a night at the opera now?
Have you asked of yourselves
What’s the price you might pay?
Is it simply a game
For rich young boys to play?
The color of the world
Is changing day by day”

This song has such a powerful message that I can’t help but love it. What are you willing to do to change the world? I would recommend watching the movie that this song comes from. It’s powerful, cinematic and one of the better movie musicals I’ve seen.

What motivates you to run? Is it music? A goal?

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My 3 favorite songs

  1. abimazumdar says:

    Great post. 🙂
    Loved the way you went through your favourite songs one by one, highlighting your favourite verse. I feel Green Day is one of the most versatile bands around. They have the capability of having polar opposite genre of songs in their albums. 21 guns signifies that.

Leave a Reply

