Heartbreak Hill 10K recap

The race I have been waiting for since October 2013 and my inspiration for getting back into running occurred Saturday morning at 8:30 a.m.

Newton, Massachusetts, on the campus of Boston College University I began my quest to achieve a time of 60 minutes. I didn’t get there, but I did learn a lot about my running abilities.

DSC_0652

I learned that I can line up with the 9-minute milers and keep up for the first half of a race.

I learned that I love running with a pack of runners because I can listen to the conversations that occur about races and PR goals.

DSC_0655I learned that even when I’m sweating and hot and don’t think I can continue, that I can, and still finish the race strong.

When I lined up with the 9-minute milers, I found myself surrounded by runners wearing bibs that said “Hat Trick.” No pressure. Lining up with runners who you deem better than yourself is something intimidating, scary and also makes you realize how much you appreciate the running community.

Because of where I lined up, I met a few people who had run multiple half marathons. They offered advice about which races to run, how to avoid injuries and inspiration to get through the race.

My second 10K was the hardest race I have ever run. Racing on a sunny road surface with just enough inspiration to make it from one water station to the other gave me a new mastery of my perseverance. And at the end of that 6-mile run, I learned that even if I feel like I had the worst run of my life, I could still have the best time I’ve ever had.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Racing, Writing 101 - Journey of Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heartbreak Hill 10K recap

  1. Cielo says:

    Love it,,Love how passionate you are about running 🙂

Leave a Reply

