Running brings out multiple personalities

“I’m so excited to run today. I really need this,” says the brain, ready to go.

“Really? This crap again? Ya know, I prefer curled up on the sofa,” says the legs.

“Well, we have goals to hit, so you’re going to just deal with it.”

“How long do I have to go this time?”

“Six miles. But we want that in under 60 minutes.”

“Oh really? Well, I see your goal and raise you another one.”

“But you can’t go too fast, because I have to keep you going when you get tired.”

“Well then, you better figure out a way to hold me back.”

“Alright, well there’s the starting horn. Let’s go!”

“I want to go faster. Please, please please! I want to be done!”

“We just passed mile 2. Oh jeez, just mile 2?”

“Remember I didn’t even want to do this? Well, I’m going to keep going, so you’re going to have to deal with it.”

“But I’m tired. I can’t come up with any other motivational phrases.”

“Oh come on, we’re more than halfway through, we got this!”

“But it’s hot out, and I’m sticky.”

“Seriously? What happened to wanting to PR? You can do this!”

“Alright, you can run a little bit faster until the next road sign.”

“I feel free! Oh it feels good to run fast!”

“OK, slow down. I can’t breathe.”

“Get it together. We’re almost there. Do you want to PR or not?”

“Well, maybe I’m OK with just finishing this race. This hill is called Heartbreak for a reason.”

“You are not going to back out now. Just let me run. Look! I can see the Boston College Campus! We’re almost there.”

“No we aren’t. We aren’t even close.”

“If you would let me kick, we would be there sooner.”

“No, not yet. You’ll tire out way before the finish line.”

“OK, I can see the line now. Can we finish strong?”

“Alright. It’s all you. Go for it!”

“Yes! Finally.”

The legs just take it away and close the end of the race and beat the clock for a PR. Not the PR that the brain wanted, but still better than the last one.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Racing, Writing 101 - Journey of Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running brings out multiple personalities

  1. amforte66 says:

    Love this! What a great idea to have a dialogue between your brain and legs…very clever and original. Tags here and there identifying who was speaking and detailing the scenery would have helped me formulate a stronger picture in my mind. I really enjoyed this…super funny and unique! 🙂

Leave a Reply

