The finish line

During a race, there is one iconic image everyone enjoys. Runners crossing the finish line.

Point of view 1:  the runner

I’m so exhausted. I can’t possibly run another step! Wait, is that the finish line? OK, I can do this! Almost there! For real this time! Not like the other times when there were still a few miles to go. You can do it! Finish strong! Look at all those people clapping and cheering you on. Hear them encourage you as you come toward the end of the race. It’s over. You’ve done it!

Point of view 2:  the spectator

This is where the glory happens. I can’t wait to see my (insert relationship here) cross the line! I don’t know how someone could possibly run 6 miles in 32 minutes. That’s incredible. I wonder what else is going on today….I think I should wash the car when I get home or maybe mow the lawn. Oh! Is that (insert pronoun here)? Nope. Just another runner. Geez, look how sweaty they are. It looks like they could pass out at any time. I wonder what (insert name here) will look like? I hope they don’t stink….that is going to be a very long ride home if they do. What’s the time at? Oh, only 52 minutes. It won’t be anytime soon. Geez, these long races are not going to be very much fun. I wonder if I can swipe a gatorade from that table. It’s really hot out here. Oh wait, there (insert pronoun here) is! YAY! You got this! Great job!

Point of view 3:  the medic
I wonder how long it’ll take for the first runner to cross the line. Last race it took a little over 30 minutes. Geez these people are fast. I hope that the other medics don’t have too many injuries to deal with. Do I have enough ice packs? Yes, I double checked them. Here comes the first wave of runners. Oh…that one in the red shirt looks a little light-headed. I hope she’s OK.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

