My Favorite Cross Training – Taekwondo

If I were to put into words what training in martial arts is like, I wouldn’t be able to portray the impact it has had on my life and the lives of countless others around the globe.

At age 8 I started training in Songahm Taekwondo in my little hometown in Western Pennsylvania. Despite performing in musicals and going off to college, I always came back to martial arts.

When I was younger I didn’t understand why adults used the training for weight loss – but now I do. Taekwondo is a full-body workout. I guarantee you will use muscles you didn’t even know you had.

After I began running regularly again, I noticed that my running was better when I was training for a tournament or rank advancement. Core is important is Taekwondo for balance and technique, while it’s important in running for proper form while on the road.

I’ve noticed that the benefits I receive while running from Taekwondo are also returned. For instance, running builds endurance, which is something martial artists must have during sparring. I find that running 6 miles is easier than sparring for 2 minutes. I’ve also noticed that my speed has increased in both sports because of the cross training.

If you have ever thought of doing cross training exercises, I would strongly recommend you at least try out a martial arts program. The benefits you get out of the program will not only be the physical ones such as increased balance and muscle strength, but also life benefits like better focus and perseverance. I will also make a bet that your confidence in yourself will increase as you find that you can do martial arts and challenge yourself in new a different ways.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

