The Stages of Being a Runner

When you start running everything is great. You’re trying something you’ve never done and loving (or maybe hating) it. The leg soreness, the stretching, it all has a new feel to it. This is stage 1, where runners feel great and can train without any issues.

Stage 2. You know you’re injured.

Most runners go through a few injuries during their lifetime……OK….maybe more than just a few. This is never a good feeling. Perhaps it starts as a twinge, or a discomfort. You think, I can still run, I’m OK. Then it continues or the pain gets worse. So you ice it, take an Advil, and rest. Sometimes you have to stop running altogether. This could quite possibly be the worst torture there is. So you sit with your Runner’s World and wish you could run.

Stage 3. You do your first post-injury workout.

You finally feel good; perhaps get a doctor’s clearance to commence running again. If you’re like me, this is the worst part. I dealt with the cycle of taking care of a strained tendon in my knee, but the first run post-injury was terrible. Not terrible because it took me an hour to run 3 miles. Not terrible because I mentally couldn’t get through it. It was terrible because my legs didn’t want to run. In the 30 minutes I forced my legs to turn, the first 25 were horrible. It was worse than when I began running.

Before I injured myself the most recent time, I could run 4 miles in 40 minutes and not ache for the next couple days. I was happy that I had finally reached that milestone. So being forced to fight back to get there, took every ounce of perseverance I had.

Stage 1 (again). You run like normal without any injuries.

Eventually, every runner gets back to where they were. Or, they find a new normal. This is the stage where things feel good, when you’re back at the starting line again. You don’t think twice about lacing up your shoes and pounding the pavement. This is when it’s easy to be a runner. Maybe there’s some self-doubt, maybe some aching. But no injuries.

 

Right now I’m happily going through stage 1, but something tells me stage 2 will turn its ugly head once again and I’ll be set back from another PR or race goal. Oh well, tis the life of being a runner. You accept the inevitable cycle and do everything in your power to avoid stage 2.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Advice, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Stages of Being a Runner

  1. amcory says:

    Tomorrow marks by return to running after three months of recovering from a torn calf muscle. I am terrified. I have had every running injury out there, but this one was sudden, not chronic. This one sent me to the ER, not just the orthopedist. What if it happens again? I am antsy to run, but out of fear, will limit myself to running for one minute, walking for four, for the three mile loop. (Unless I meet another runner, in which case I will inevitably run until they are out of my view.)

    • Aly says:

      amcory, that sounds like a very painful injury! I’m glad to hear you are on the mend and getting back on the road. Let me know how it goes and take it one step at a time 🙂

Leave a Reply

