One Year Anniversary

It’s a little hard to believe it’s been one whole year since I decided to become a runner. Back when I went to the gym twice a week and ran intervals on the treadmill because running for a whole mile just didn’t seem possible.Last year, when an ad in Runner’s World for the Heartbreak Hill Half Festival caught my eye.

When I signed up for that race, I didn’t think I would be able to run 6 miles straight. In 12 months, I went from thinking that I just wanted to finish a 10K, to running one in under 60 minutes.

In 12 months, I decided that I will run a marathon (hopefully Pittsburgh 2016). I will plan to run a half next year in New Hampshire.

It’s amazing how as you get older, what seemed impossible a year ago doesn’t seem so far off anymore. You would think as a child when change happens each year with school and growing and interests, when you reached adulthood you would be used to it.

Not me.

Even though I’ve changed so much in my life and about myself in the past year, I’m still amazed at just how far I’ve come. And not just in running. I’ve made strides in my professional careers (yes, I have two). I’ve set new goals for Taekwondo that seemed so far out of reach last year. I’ve grown so much as a person that I look back at who I was when I graduated college two years ago and don’t recognize that person from who I am today.

Situations you enable yourself to experience by lacing up your shoes or stepping up to a starting line can, and probably will, change you. They’ll teach you that you can do something you never thought you could. They’ll teach you that even when you’re exhausted and don’t think you could take another step, you can. That when somebody tells you you can’t do something, you know you will find a way because you have surprised yourself in the past.

Have you ever noticed a large change in yourself because of an activity? In the next 12 months, where do you see yourself?

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

