Getting back into a rhythm

It’s a new month. For me, that means getting back into a schedule for running. Sometimes life takes over and you lose control over your schedule. It happens. Over the past 2 months, that is exactly what happened to me.

I completely lost track of time due to work schedules and other responsibilities, something I understand happens a lot as you get older. (Did I mention being a grown up stinks?) Unfortunately for me, my running suffered.

But I’m coming back to running in the month I began it last year. To keep myself accountable, not only will I be working toward my goal of running a marathon in 17 months, I’ll also be setting monthly goals.

  1. Run for 30 minutes at a 5.8 Pace
    Instead of going for distance, I’m going for minutes. If a marathon is going to take a few hours, I need to build endurance for minutes, not miles.
  1. Run at 6.8 pace for 1 mile
    In an attempt to increase my time in the 5K for next year, I’m going to increase my speed training and endurance on the short run. Eventually, I will add distance onto that pace.
  1. Run 5 intervals (1 minute sprint, 2 minute recovery) at a 5.8 and 6.8 pace
    I absolutely LOVE intervals. There is no way that I couldn’t set a goal that didn’t include some interval running.

Long term, I’m hoping that each month I will extend myself a little bit more. I have found that running for minutes pushes me to work on my endurance more than looking at miles. If I go for miles, I would prefer to run faster to get them done, versus running at one pace for a certain length of time.

I’ve said for years to my Taekwondo students that goals give us a reason to get up in the morning – they give us something to work toward. Without goals, you lose inspiration to continue on. Why else would you have a reason to get up in the morning?

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

