New Month – New Goals

Wow. It’s November. I’m going through a little bit of denial that it is indeed, the second-to-last month of 2014.

Last month I decided that I was going to set goals for myself each month to keep my training on track. I’ve never been much of a “training plan” person.

October’s goals were a good start on where I wanted to be as I began a new racing year.  I was able to run 1 mile at a 6.8 pace and still felt like I could have gone farther. To keep going with my goal of running a faster mile, I will set my next goal to run 1 mile at a 6.9 pace.

The other two goals I did not increase by much, mostly because they are the most challenging goals I set. I’ve always had problems with keeping a set pace for a certain distance, which is why I only upped my time by 5 minutes.

As far as interval training goes, I decided that I would only increase the number of intervals by 2. Eventually, I would like to be able to run 10 intervals and have the sprint be at a 7.0 pace – but I’m going to work up to that one.

November goals:

  1. Run at a 6.9 pace for 1 mile
  2. Run at a 5.8 pace for 35 minutes
  3. Run 7 intervals at a 5.8 and 6.8 pace (1 minute sprint, 2 minute recovery)

 

Do you have any goals you want to achieve before the end of the year? New Years Resolutions are coming up fast!

 

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

