Running with musicals Part 1

When I run, my playlist consists of the upbeat music that most runners enjoy. Typical songs include Eye of the Tiger, My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark and American Idiot. But, my playlist wouldn’t be complete without a set of musical numbers. While these aren’t the only musical songs on the playlist, they are definitely staples during any long slog.

For this 2-part post, I’ll list my Top 10 favorite musical theatre songs I listen to when I run. These songs are catchy, fun, and some are even classics.

Number 10. Always Look on the Bright Side of Life – Spamalot

It’s hard to keep from smiling when this song comes on. Originally from the Monty Python film Life of Brian, this song offers an upbeat tune with lyrics that can lift anyone’s spirits. When I’m in the midst of a long run and I really don’t feel like going on, this song’s upbeat rhythm helps my feet continue, and the lyrics are easy to mouth as I push myself through each step.  As a bonus, I picture the knights of the round table dancing around with smiley-face umbrellas.

Number 9. Do the Necronomicon – Evil Dead

You may be familiar with the next song in this list, but for me, this is just as much of a classic. It’s modern, fun, and tells you exactly what the moves are. This is song first came into my life during college, when my university put on a production of Evil Dead. As a lover of zombies, this musical took over my life in the weeks following the show. I ordered the soundtrack the next night. I couldn’t get enough of the catchy melodies – and a bigger plus was that it connected with one of my favorite horror movies, Army of Darkness. This song has such a catchy tune that you can’t help but want to dance along. I think of the dance moves as I chug down the road, and sometimes, treat the passerby to my best Henry Winkler.

Number 8. The Time Warp – Rocky Horror Picture Show

In keeping with the dancing music, this song is perfect. And who doesn’t love a cult classic?  It’s just a jump to the left!

Number 7. Masquerade – Phantom of the Opera

For some reason, this song always gives me a boost when I’m out on the road. Maybe it’s the picture in my mind of everyone in costumes dancing, or the orchestration. Whatever the reason, this remains one of my favorite songs to run to. And, it’s from one of the best musicals of all time.

Number 6. Schadenfreude – Avenue Q

WARNING – there’s some vulgarity in this song. When you’re out in the later miles of a run, this song provides some great visuals of other people’s pain, which gets you thinking about that instead of your own. All of the music from this show is a great representation of American culture, and the people who move the characters and voice them, make the show what it is. I love this song because it’s funny, and the beat fits right in with my footfall rhythm.

 

Do you have any must-play songs when out on the road? I’d love to hear about them and possibly add them to my playlist!

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running with musicals Part 1

  1. stevenbisby says:

    I love This is the moment from Jeykle and Hyde.
    http://www.wheresthatmusical.co.uk

Leave a Reply

