Marathon Training – Week 7

So it’s been 7 weeks since I set off on this crazy journey to run a marathon. While the running part has been going very well, I’ve logged 50 miles since I started November 9, the fundraising half of my quest has fallen way short of expectations.

But let’s get back to the running. I have to be honest here, I’ve struggled with staying motivated and keeping to the plan. I’ve skipped weekday workouts at least once a week. Looking at the schedule and seeing that I had to run 9 miles on my 24th birthday, was not exactly what I was looking forward to. But after a few days of being upset that I had to run, the night before I really wanted to get out there and hit the road. I’m glad I did.

Maybe it was all the distractions of “Happy Birthday” texts, or the call from my parents as I came down the last quarter mile of the run and hearing them sing the birthday song, but I loved it.

Before the end of this year, I’ll have logged 238 miles in my quest to PR at the 10K in Groton, Massachusetts, complete my first half marathon, and begin my journey toward a full marathon effort.

During all of those minutes, all of the steps, I’ve learned so much about myself, and what I truly am capable of. While a marathon still feels daunting, and I’m terrified to see anything more than 14 miles on the training plan, I know that somehow, someway, I’ll get across the finish line in Pittsburgh May 1.

Three months ago I never thought I’d be able to run a half marathon, and I did that. Hell, two years ago I never thought I would be able to run 3 miles without stopping.

But one thing I’m really looking forward to about my marathon effort, is knowing that I will have made a difference in some child’s life, allowing them to have access to music programs that can give them an outlet that in many ways saved my life. Please consider donating just $10 to my fundraising effort. You can do so by clicking the “Donate Now” button below. Everything donated goes directly to the charity, and it would mean a lot to know my miles are going towards a cause.

 

 

 

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

