Running has taught me: Acceptance

There are some things in life that will happen and you will have no control over any of it. Today we live in a world rocked by death, violence, and natural disasters. There are never any answers when those things happen. Even the most logical people can have trouble accepting the events around them.

And that’s life.

Something I’ve learned from running is that you will have those days. Whether your alarm doesn’t go off, you didn’t have enough time to get ready, eat the right stuff to fuel, or the weather is just horrible – you still have to get out there and run. That recognition of things happening out of your control and being forced to accept them has been something very important to a control freak like myself.

I’m learning to accept things in my life that I cannot change. One instance I’m dealing with right now is to learning to accept my teeth. Outwardly, there’s nothing wrong with them. But I’ve had some gum recession, and a few cavities (like 5 or 6). I had some horrible brushing/flossing/rinsing habits for a few years following my big move to Massachusetts. I let things get out of hand. And now, I’m paying the price, literally and figuratively.

I have to learn to accept that sometimes I’m going to screw up. Sometimes, I’m going to let life get in the way and there will be a consequence. Whether that means I’ll be cursing myself for not eating enough oatmeal before a long run, or laying back in a dentist’s chair with a drill stuck in my mouth, I have to accept the things that are here, in the present. Unchangeable.

So I’m working on it. Accepting the things I cannot change, working to make the most of each moment. Enjoying each step of a training run, even if my legs hurt, my face is cold, or my stomach is growling. Because at the end of the day, I can’t change that I had to rush to get my run in, or that my tooth is aching, all I can do is try to make the best of it, and look toward the future.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Running Has Taught Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

