Brave

Sometimes a song is written that just speak to you. This happened to me a few years ago when Josh Groban release “Brave.” Every time I hear this song it transports me back to a time in my life where everything seemed to be uncertain. I was a few months into moving away from everything I had even known, I was out interning and trying to make my way through a professional environment for the first time. And then, on top of everything else, we had a few health scares within the family. Talk about a lot to handle.

When I picked up All That Echoes and played the first track, I was instantly brought to tears. Every word of the song fit my life situation. I remember hearing “you can’t find forever from the thunder, look into the storm and feel the rain” and closing my eyes for just a second to know that I wasn’t alone in this fight.

During my recent 14-mile run, this song came on my playlist and it gave me a much-needed boost. It reminded me of why I decided to run this marathon. Why I’m putting myself through not only the runs, but also through the pain and aching after they are over. Why I chose the Find Your Light Foundation as my charity.

It’s so important to me that children have access to music and are able to find that outlet that so many are being denied as sports gather all the funding and music and arts programs are cut left and right. It frightens me that so many kids are being denied access to a program that in many ways gave me a purpose and release from life.

When Brave came on during that run, it reminded me that it is totally OK to be terrified of running a marathon. It’s OK to not have control over everything. Life is crazy and unexplainable and terrifying. But if you close your eyes and look into the storm and feel the rain, you can learn to live through all of the craziness. And if it all becomes too much, you can always escape to another place through the arts.

Link to donate to my charity fundraising effort: https://www.crowdrise.com/marathonformusicpittsburgh2016/fundraiser/alycialambert 

 

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

