Cross-Training Challenge

I have got to be one of the worst cross-training runners on this planet. And with the Marathon looming in less than 100 days, I’ve decided to correct this current slide, I would challenge myself for one month with various tasks.

There are three different month-long challenges that I have decided to partake in, and I invite you to join along with me. You can do all of them, or just one. The key of this is consistency. Whichever one you pick, you have to be consistent. I actually started this challenge on January 31, since the training duration is 30 days. So far, so good!

Challenge 1.  SQUAT CHALLENGE

What I loved about this challenge initially is the change in what type of squat you are doing on any given day. Sometimes doing straight squats for 30 days can get a bit bland, so this challenge really excited me. So far, I’m loving this challenge, even though it’s only been a few days. It seems easy enough that I’ll be able to continue all month, even with some mega long runs coming up.

squat.png

Link to full challenge:  http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/workout/butt/exercises/30-day-squat-challenge/ 

Challenge 2.  PLANK CHALLENGE

I have always hated planks, despite the fact that they are so beneficial for building core strength. So with this, I hope that I can find a way to get over my hatred and do the exercises completely. I’m hoping that the days with the Superman exercises will break up the plank monotony.

plank.png

Link to full challenge:  https://www.pinterest.com/pin/216524694563714065/ 

Challenge 3.  ARMS CHALLENGE

Something that runners hardly think about is their arms. But arm strength is important for runners, as the pumping motion with your arms will help keep your momentum going forward, and not drag you down. I’ve never been a huge fan of the triceps dips, and push ups have never been my best friend, but I’m going to make an effort to complete each days’ exercise to the best of my ability.

arms.png

Link to full challenge:  https://www.pinterest.com/pin/216524694563714122/

 

Donate to the #MarathonForMusic:  https://www.crowdrise.com/marathonformusicpittsburgh2016/fundraiser/alycialambert 
About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Training, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

