Marathon Training – two months to go

1918211_10153998835099190_3509569322656015294_nI cannot believe that in less than two months I’ll be hitting the streets of Pittsburgh to do something I have never done before – RUN a MARATHON.

I won’t lie, the training part of the race has been absolutely miserable. That doesn’t even count the recovery from long runs. There are things that people never tell you about Marathon training, and even if you’ve done a half before, you probably aren’t prepared for what’s to come. I know I wasn’t.

People never told me how hard the later miles of a long run would be. When I ran my half in November, the last two miles were hard, but I didn’t feel like I was going to die. I even started off way too fast, and didn’t follow my plan. So when I set out to do my first longer run of 17 miles, I was committed to the interval strategy.

By mile 13, I was beat. I physically couldn’t run another step. But I had to complete my training. So, I walked a lot, and ran a little bit, and eventually I made it to the end. I made a call to my husband to come pick me up because I couldn’t walk up the hill. I could barely even stand. Talk about a low blow.

So, needless to say, I was dreading my 20-mile run scheduled for February 28. I pre-mapped out my run, gave myself more time to fuel, and took the time to stretch my legs before getting started. Something beautiful happened during that 20-mile adventure. I felt pain; I felt ecstasy; I learned that I can do it.

People also didn’t prepare me for the rungry that happens the day of and a few days after your long run. That unaskable hunger that consumes your thoughts and emotions. OK, maybe I’m exaggerating a bit, but still, I’m RUNGRY!

Overall, this training part of the Marathon experience has taught me a lot about myself, and I know that with two more months to go, and about 115 miles left to run, that I’ll learn a whole lot more.

One thing that has kept me going throughout this process is knowing that I chose to run this Marathon not only for myself, but also for a charity.

March is National Music in Our Schools month, and I couldn’t think of a more fitting time to reflect on everything that has been possible in my life because of music. If 216 people donate just $10 to my cause, I’ll reach my goal. Please consider not only helping me reach my goal, but also helping children experience the amazing joy that music can bring.

If music has touched your life, click here to further music in schools, and give me an extra boost through a later mile of the race.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Marathon For Music, Racing, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

