The final countdown

I cannot believe that we’re here. Less than a week until the Pittsburgh Marathon! It’s crazy to me that on Friday I’ll be loading my gear into the car, ready to make the trek to Pennsylvania for the biggest, and longest, race of my life. I’m nervous. I’m excited. I’m SCARED.

I think it’s only right to be scared about taking on something so monumental. Only .5% of the U.S. population have ever crossed the finish line of a marathon, so just that in itself will be an accomplishment. Then there are the smaller goals that go along with completing the 26.2. Time goals, goals for how I’ll run the race, planning out the miles and how I want to run each one. I have had to reevaluate my goals after getting sick and dropping a few pounds…so now the 5-hour marathon I was training for might not be possible. But that’s OK. At the end of it all, I want to cross that line.

I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about what a “successful” performance at Pittsburgh looks like for me, and I think, I’ve finally come up with the answer. Here are the things I’ve decided will make me proud, regardless of if I cross in 5 hours or 6.

  • I want to run Mile 1, that shouldn’t be too hard, I mean, it’s Mile 1.
  • I want to run the massive hill at Mile 12. If you look on the elevation chart, it looks like death. I want to be a superhero and power up that hill like there’s nothing else left to run.
  • I want to run Mile 25. It’s the very last mile of the Marathon, and even though I know my legs will be screaming, I want to finish strong.

race elevationLife is based on a series of expectations and realities, dreams and heartbreaks. I’m sure throughout the 26.2 miles, I’ll experience some things that I expected, and some things that clearly will bring me right back to the reality of how hard this race is going to be to complete. I’m excited for the journey, scared for the uncertainty of everything that morning will bring, but I’m also ready to go on a personal journey where I’ll learn more about myself and what I am capable of.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Marathon For Music, Racing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The final countdown

  1. Gail says:

    You’ll find yourself…truly. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

