Recover. Refresh. Rebuild.

Recover

I’m one week removed from the Pittsburgh Marathon, and I’ve spent a lot of this past week focusing on my recovery process. Not only physically, but mentally as well. I’ve had to process a lot of feelings about the race. From feeling like crap about myself for how I wanted to quit, to then feeling very proud of myself and now…..wanting to run another one……..

I was decently sore for the next two days after the race, but then my legs returned to normal. I felt better after running 26.2 than I had after running 20. I’m still not sure how that works out…..but I’ll take it. I feel completely recovered from the race now, both mentally and physically, and I’m excited for what is in store for the rest of 2016, even though I’m still working out what that looks like.

Refresh

After achieving such a huge goal, that took months of work to achieve, it’s good to take some time to refocus on what you want. I’ve let my mind not focus on running, or running goals, or anything running related really. I just, let myself wander. But now I’m ready.

Ready to look ahead to the rest of 2016. To start working toward the next goals. So far, I’ve pegged the following:

  • 5K PR
  • Possible 10k PR (but I’ll be happy just to race again)
  • Maybe, just maybe, another half marathon, but I’m not totally sold

Rebuild
plank challengeTo go along with my updated goals, I’ve decided that I want to get stronger. And that will be the most-important thing I do post-marathon. I lost 3 pounds during the race, so I’ve put a lot of effort into regaining my weight and building back the muscle that I lost. I feel like I’m in a good place now, and I don’t hate running as much as I did even a month ago.

So for right now I’m making a plan to start building muscle back in areas that may not have been as strong as they should have been – mainly my abs and upper body. Thank goodness for Pinterest and the millions of workout options they have available.

I’ve decided to give this one a try, in addition to my regularly scheduled running workouts. We all know how the original 30-challenge went, so hopefully this one doesn’t fizzle out in only 10 days.

What I love about this challenge is that there are different workouts, and not just the same thing everyday. I’m returning back to the planks, and hopefully I’ll be able to maintain and build my stamina up to complete this.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

