A little girl goes to Boston

Last week I had the amazing opportunity to travel to Boston for two days for a training IMG_2133seminar. I love Boston. The second I see the city I’m blown away by the architecture, the history, the city’s subtle nuances.  The intricate way the city has grown around its historic
buildings, preserving our country’s early history, yet becoming one of the larger cities on the east coast – incredible. Boston also has one of my favorite bridges, and every single time I go to the city, I have to take a picture of it. Every. Single. Time.

For this trip I had to step outside of my comfort zone. I used public IMG_2123transportation, BY MYSELF, navigating the subway system and fitting in with regular Boston commuters as we crammed onto the Green Line in the morning and afternoon. You see some weird things while commuting in the city of Boston….like this guy on the morning train with his Snoopy socks and sandals. I’m not judging the socks, or the sandals with the socks – just that the humidity was ridiculous and his feet must have been on fire.

For a small-town girl who had never visited a big city on her own, this was huge. Like most runners, I’m a bit of an introvert. I enjoy doing things by myself, and my hobbies reflect that. So going into a big city with lots of hustle and bustle and crammed subway cars can be a bit of a daunting challenge.

IMG_2121The training I attended was hosted just down the street from the Boston Common and right off of Boylston street. That’s right, the street with the most-historic marathon finish line. I could not resist the opportunity to swiftly walk down the street and take a picture of this year’s finish line. On my way, I was passed by a group of runners led by a woman telling them about the history of the race. I ached to join them.

IMG_2124On my way home from the first day of the seminar I got to create my own little Harry Potter fantasy. My train was at Platform 9, so I instinctively road the car about 3/4ths of the way up. (Get it?)

Friday morning I took a quick stroll through the beautiful Boston Common before heading over to the seminar. I was again jealous of the runners as they pranced around the fountains, statues and ponds. It was peaceful. The cool morning air refreshing after cramming onto a Subway car. The ducks and swans were all sleeping, birds hopped along the ground looking for crumbs. Squirrels leaped over the green searching for nuts without a care in the world….that is until an adorable white dog tore through the Common. He didn’t bark at all, but he did quite enjoy himself as he chased squirrel after squirrel.

IMG_2118

Both days of the seminar were absolutely amazing.  I expanded knowledge in so many areas that I had explored, but not perfected. I was sad when my train pulled into the station Friday afternoon. Mostly because I learned so much about myself over that 2-day trip.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

