The Summer Olympics are here!

I love the Olympics. I can’t quite understand why I’m so obsessed with the games, but I love the Summer games more than any other. The gymnastics, the swimming, equestrian, and of course, running!

307CF6E300000578-0-image-a-11_1453512595180This year I’m more invested than any other year, probably because I never identified with the runners as much as I do now. I know I’m no Shalane Flanagan (girl crush alert!), but I understand how hard training is and the struggle to some degree.

Track and Field Events start Friday, August 12, bright and early at 8 a.m. But, if you don’t have a lot of time to sit and watch all the events (join the club), I would recommend you check out the following:

Usain Bolt

OK, he isn’t an event, BUT, he is one of the fastest and strongest runners I’ve ever seen in my life. And, he’s Jamaican, and who doesn’t love Jamaica? Bolt will compete in three events, but I have my heart set on watching two of them.

100m Saturday 8/13   &   200m Tuesday 8/16

Women’s Marathon

In all seriousness, I know it’s not fascinating to watch people run long distances, BUT, this is the Olympics, and Shalane Flanagan and Desi Linden are going for the gold. You can get behind these two amazing women as they try to achieve Olympic stardom.

Sunday 8/14 8:30 a.m.

Women’s Steeplechase

I would equate the Steeplechase event to the Olympic version of a Tough Mudder. There are obstacles and water jumps, and all-around excitement. I recommend watching this event to get a full feel for how incredible humans can be, and to develop a new respect for athletes.

Monday (8/15) 8 a.m.

Women’s 400m

You may remember Allyson Felix from the London games, where she captured the gold in the 200m. This year, she will run in the 400m, an event she has never competed in before.

Semi:  Sunday 8/13 & Monday 8/14
Finals:  8/15 7 p.m.

Men’s Decathalon  

4 runs, 3 jumps, 3 throws – those are the basics of the Decathalon. Much like the Steeplechase, this event is much more than just running, and American Ashton Eaton could be the first decathlete to repeat in the event since 1984.

8/17 & 8/18

Men’s Marathon

Finish out the Olympics with the second Marathon event, where Boston Marathon winner Meb Keflezighi tries to earn his place in history. Some are calling this Meb’s last competitive Marathon, so watch him while you can!

Sunday 8/21 8 a.m. 

If you’re interested in watching some of the events this year, see the list of day-by-day event on Sporting News.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Summer Olympics are here!

  1. duffrunning says:

    I dunno, I’m pretty sure Usain Bolt counts as an event! You guys are so lucky, for us in the UK we have to get up at 2am on Monday morning to see the 100m final!

Leave a Reply

