Running is play

Play not only keeps us young but it also maintains our perspective about the relative seriousness of things. Running is play, for even if we try hard to do well at it, it is a relief from every day cares. – Jim Fixx

I’m a huge proponent of learning through play. I’ve seen first-hand that children are more engaged when they are learning things hands-on, and I think that adults benefit when they work in a career where they are having fun, even if it’s stressful (what job isn’t?). If you enjoy your work, you’ll have a much happier existence.

I’ve heard from people much older than myself who think that running has kept them young. I had a professor in college who ran every morning – including on his 70th birthday (in the snow and ice). By looking at him, you would have never known he was 70. He looked young, and his brain was as sharp as a 25-year-old.

This quote also made me think of some of the “elderly” runners I’ve raced with. Some people in their 80s who are still blowing past me during a 5K. Could running be the elixir to life?

The last part of this quote rings so true to my life. As a young adult, the world is a horribly confusing place, where one day you can feel like you are completely managing your life, and the next day you feel like it’s the first day of high school and you’re trying to figure out life all over again.

Running is my relief.

kids-running-field.jpg

weareteachers.com

When I run, I actually get to control most of my experience, unlike everything else that is part of life. I can control my attitude, my pace, where I go and how long I go out for. Hardly do you get that much control over any situation.

When I’m out running, I have time to get away from the world, and any stressors or problems that are weighing on my mind. I have a place to work through my problems, to push through the anger and frustration of whatever is going on in life.

The best part is when I’m out, working hard to complete a set of intervals or a long run, and even though I’ve had the worst day, I can come back to house feeling like a whole new person.That’s the best relief.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

