Quarter of a century

Something strange happened today. I turned 25.

Age has never mattered to me. In fact, until this year, I honestly couldn’t even tell you how old I was. I knew I was old enough to drink and that was all that mattered. But, there’s something weird to me about turning 25.

I feel like I have lived a lifetime and yet haven’t lived at all. That’s one of the weird things about time.

I’ve come to realize that 25 years can seem like an entire lifetime because there are many milestones and moments that shape you within that time. In 25 years you start to figure out who you are. You experience your first success, your first failure – and in most cases, your first profound loss.

In one year, I experienced two of those things. I’ve been shaped more as a person in the past 5 years than I think in the 20 before that. And out of those 5, more in the last two three years.

A quarter of a century ago I started out as a wrinkly little baby. Today I stand a woman – a professional – a marathoner – a wife. In this last year, closing out my first quarter of a century, I was able to buy a new car, get hired full time in a job that I love, and purchase a house. I would say that isn’t too shabby.

img_2654It’s hard to think that I’ll have the same number of milestone events in the next 25 years. But I also know that the biggest struggles and successes are ahead of me. In the next 25 years I can expect a few things to happen, like children, pets, cars. I’m excited that after the 25 years our new house will be almost paid off!

The last race I ran to celebrate the close of my first quarter of a century was our local Turkey Trot, which was a first for me. I had a blast getting up early on Thanksgiving and getting out for a nice run before bingeing on Parade festivities, the dog show, and delicious food.

Here’s to the next 25 years, and every adventure that awaits!

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Running Has Taught Me and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

