Welcome to 2017!

2017-bIt’s a new year! I’m very excited for what is to come in 2017 and that 2016 is behind me. Last year was definitely one of the hardest thus far and I grew a lot as a person. It was a momentous year with a lot of highlights and also one huge loss.

We bought a house last year, and a brand-new car. I ran a MARATHON. I learned that even when I feel that I can’t carry on, that with a lot of hard work and perseverance I can. Taking those lessons I learned last year, I’m going to work toward becoming more confident and stand tall in the face of adversity. I’m planning to have a packed race schedule in 2017, after a lack-luster performance of only 3 races last year.

I’ve decided on a few of the normal distances, and I’m going to try and squeeze in my first 10-miler this year. In addition to that, I’m also going to try something that is more for consistency than strength. Each day I’m going to try to do 10 push-ups and plank for 30 seconds. I know it doesn’t seem like much, but I’m hoping this will turn into a larger effort to make myself stronger – physically and mentally.

Here’s a quick rundown of the planned 2017 race schedule:

  • April:  Groton 10K
  • May:  Run to Remember 5 Miler
  • June:  Mayflower Brewing Half Marathon
  • July:  Sparkler 5K
  • August:  New Hampshire 10 Miler
  • October:  Smuttynose Half Marathon
  • November:  Turkey Trot 5K

 

What races are on your list this year? Are you working toward consistency, or are you setting out for a Personal Record or a new race distance?

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Racing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

