Looking back at the #CosmoButtChallenge

I am happy to say that I officially finished the Cosmo Butt Challenge. 28 (29 actually because I skipped a day in the middle by accident) of ass-shrinking exercises and lunges that seemed to never end.

Before I dig into the results, I have to give a huge shout-out to my Husband for keeping me going and being my timer throughout the month – I wouldn’t have been as motivated without him.

Also want to give a shout-out to YouTube, because the plethora of Ben Platt singing videos helped give me some sweet rifts to take my mind off the aching legs at the end of the reps. Seriously, this dude can sing!

Now with that out of the way, let’s break down the challenge.

For 28 days, you do the same 5 exercises for 8 minutes a night – don’t worry there were 4 rest days included. The exercises consisted of squats, lunges, kickbacks, dead lifts, and bridges. Do those in a circuit, 15 reps total or 15 per leg (depending on exercise), and rest for 30 seconds between each complete circuit.

Ouch. Ouch. Ouch. Ouch. Ouch.

At the beginning, the exercises hurt, but it takes time to do 30 lunges when you’re first starting out. I figured that it would get better as I went along – as many programs normally do as your body builds muscle memory.

But the PAIN.

Yeah, my body built that muscle memory up so well that toward the end of the 28 days I was making it through two whole circuits on a regular basis. If you’re not keeping count – that’s 30 total squats and 60 total lunges – SIXTY.

But it was worth it. In the strength department at least.

I had this grandiose image of a perfectly molded booty awaiting me at the end. Instead, my butt SHRUNK.

Is it molded – yes. But it’s SMALLER.

Everybody has things about their body that they would change in a heartbeat if they could – thanks to Photoshop and unrealistic body images we are shown every day.  I’ve always liked my butt – the size that it was.

But looking for the positives in this now smaller-butt world, I’m excited for the power my running will have, thanks to the activated glute muscles. In every negative, if you look hard enough, there is a positive. It might be super tiny (like my new butt) and mostly made up – but it’s there.

Now, onto the next challenge!

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

