Snow running

Winter finally arrived in New Hampshire a few weeks ago, and since I needed to start training for the upcoming 10K, I decided I would brave the snowstorm and run anyway.

People may have looked at me like I was crazy at work as I made trip down the stairs to go out in the middle of the onslaught. I may not have wanted to go out in the cold and snow.

But I’m glad I did.

img_3012This might be hard to believe, but I enjoyed that one-mile run more than any run in my entire life. I wanted to keep going, but it was really cold and snow hurt my face.

I enjoyed the challenge of dodging the small snow banks that had started collecting, and making the first prints in fresh snow. There was something absolutely liberating about running and having the snow hit my face.

I also have been completely obsessed with this new musical “Dear Evan Hansen.” Seriously, if you haven’t heard of it, go listen to the cast recording. LISTEN RIGHT NOW.

I have been limiting myself to only a select number of songs, because we’re taking a trip to NYC and seeing the show.

There happens to be a song that reminds me of my friends that I miss very much because they are in Pennsylvania. But there’s a point in the song where the music swells and the lyrics take you on this emotional upward climb.

Because fate is sometimes too awesome, I happened to have had the sun hit my face, just as the corresponding lyrics played. For a total music nerd, it just doesn’t get any better than that.

If you’re not afraid to feel, and to get lost in an incredible show, take a listen to a song that inspires me every time I hear it, and a show that has changed my life forever – and I haven’t even seen it yet.

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

