A month until race day

So, here’s the deal folks. I’ve been lazy.

Now, I’m not talking about missing one run or going short on a long day. I mean lazy.

I’ve skipped weekday runs, weekend runs……whole weeks of runs.

Basically, unless I get my act together, I’ll never PR in Groton next month.

Now, I haven’t quite decided on whether or not I’m upset by this. I really did want that PR. But, I’ve also enjoyed being able to skip a run if there’s a Nor’easter or I’m not feeling well.

This is uncharted territory for the normal crazy-motivated me who regularly writes this blog. I’ve always been super driven and dedicated to goals I set forth for myself.

I think the problem lately is that the goal isn’t important enough to me. Life has gotten in the way and, to be completely honest,  running hasn’t been high enough on the list to warrant me getting out of bed and changing up my schedule.

IMG_3222.jpgBut I’m going to make a promise right now. I will not skip the next 3 runs. I know. I KNOW. That just seems silly. Such a big goal of running 3 straight times. But I have to start somewhere, and at least it’s a small enough goal that I can stick to.

And with only a month left until the 1 year anniversary of my first marathon, I am feeling more like a lump of lard than ever. I went from doing 20-mile runs to skipping out on 1-mile pursuits.

So here’s to getting back on the road and making the best of the short training time I have left!

 

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

