Happiness Check In

Wow! Can ya’ll believe that it’s April already? I definitely can’t. It seems like yesterday I woke up to and we were springing ahead for Daylight Savings.

Being that the first quarter of the year is over, I figured it was a good time to check-in on my Happiness Project. Read the original blog post.

As I was looking through my personal commandments, I came across this quote:

“Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.” – Albert Einstein

Living with anxiety often means that we get caught up in the past or the future, but never spend any time in the present moment. I fight with my inner demons a lot on these topics. My brain has the incredible ability to fixate on one sentence that would mean nothing to anybody else – but to me it means the world.

So, I’m going to try and learn from Einstein…. after all, he was a genius.

Einstein’s quote feeds directly into commandments #3 & #4:  Think Good Thoughts and Forgive my Misgivings.

I can say that I’ve made a bit of progress on these two, but not as much as I would have liked. I still end up so far inside my own head that not even the brightest of beacons could guide me out.

But, I have made some progress on #7 (Expand my Mind), #8 (Create Everyday) and #9 (Let Music Live).

I finished my first book of the year, “Darkly Dreaming Dexter,” two weeks ago, and I absolutely LOVED it. The book was just as witty as the TV series of a similar name, and I cannot wait to read the next book in the series. But that must wait, because up next shall be “The Stand,” by none other than the legendary author Stephen King. I can only hope this book reads faster than “The Tommyknockers.”

img_3118.jpgI’ve also been hooking at a furious pace lately (the crocheting kind). I’ve completed two full sets of baby materials for some special arrivals, and I also recently started a cross stitch, which when completed will be the largest I have ever accomplished.

In the music department, I’ve spent a significant amount of time at the piano, learning new songs and perfecting others. My current obsessions are “She’s Always a Woman” (Billy Joel), The “Hairspray” medley we performed during high school, and “Someone Else’s Story” from the ever-unloved musical Chess.

There’s still time to get in on the Happiness Project fun! Get your Happiness Commandments together and join in on the action with the hashtag #Happier2017

About Aly Lambert

A wandering spirit drawn to running, music, theater, and those that give life to others. Functioning in a life that's next to normal.
This entry was posted in Happiness Journey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

